Image

Perserving the curl: Flexi Rods to extend Natural hair Rollerset

Readers know rollersets are my standards. I recently decided to dust off my magnetic rollers because I wanted a smoother look. But how to preserve the curl? This week I am riding the flexi rod train to smooth, lush hair.

To start I washed and deep conditioned my hair. After washing and deep conditioning, I applied my leave in and flax seed gel and then got my roll on.

IMAG1841I rolled on grey 2 inch rollers. I used duckbill clips to secure the rollers and snap on covers from another set of rollers to smooth my hair. This combination gets me the smoothest results, but extends the dry time.

 

I sat under the dryer for one 60 minute cycle, let the rollers cool for 20 minutes and went back under for another 40 minutes and let the rollers cool again for 20 minutes. In total that is 2 hours and 20 minutes of dry time.

 

The benefit of letting rollers cool ensures that your curl stays curled. Without cooling your hair is more likely to fall because while it is dry, it is hot and thus very malleable.

 

 

 

After those nearly 2.5 hours I was tired, but napping with magnetic rollers is a literal pain. So I unrolled and below are my results

IMAG1843 IMAG1844

 

I then busted on my flexi rods. I used a total of 6 rods, but have done a similar method using four. I am not sure as to the size of the rods, but if inquiring minds want to know I will gladly bust out the measuring tape.

I finger combed my hair to make one part down the center of my head. I then sectioned my hair into 6 groups and spiraled my hair onto the rod.

IMAG1848-1 IMAG1847

I place the smaller rods in the back to achieve both a tighter curl and a more comfortable sleep. I used no holding product and in the morning was greeted with:

IMAG1852 IMAG1854 IMAG1856 IMAG1859

 

I finger combed the results and wore my hair half up/half down

IMAG1858

I have also done this in the past with similarly great results which you can see below

IMAG1514IMAG1515IMAG1517IMAG1516

I then finger combed to achieve this look

IMAG1518

How do you preserve your curl? How do you use flexi rods?

2 comments on “Perserving the curl: Flexi Rods to extend Natural hair Rollerset

  1. Pingback: Giving an old ponytail new life | herampersandhim

Leave a Reply

