Image

Jumbo Curlformers

My extra wide curlformers and I are beginning to have issues. The main issue being they are 16 inches stretched and my hair, in places, is 17 inches.

What a wonderful problem to have.

So not wanting to give up the barrel look of curls I search through the bootlegers until I found ashopndiva on eBay who had curlformers that are 21 inches when stretched. After much debate I clicked buy and despite some issues I am happy to report they arrived!

IMAG1790The rollers are both longer and wider than the previous extra wide style. This extra length is just what my hair ordered. But I didn’t realize how hard it would be to get the hook through 21 inches of fabric.

The hook that came with the package had these hair snagging teeth

unnamed

I tried the hook once and it was awful. Even though it was a struggle, I used the original smooth curlformers hook. The seller suggest using a nail clipper to cut the teeth down. However that would mean filing the reaming portion smooth. I’m too lazy for that.

The jumbo curlfomrers come  12 in a pack, so I mixed them with my extra wide curlfromers and looked like a crayon box

IMAG1794 IMAG1795

The black and white new additions were heavy and hard to sleep in. I used stretched hair ties to contain this colorful mess. I sat under the dryer for an hour and then slept in rollers.

In the morning I was greeted with very different, but equally great curls.

IMAG1800_BURST002This picture best shows the difference in the curls. The extra long extra wide, black and white curlformers gave me loose waves; rather than tight curls.

IMAG1803 you can see the mixture of curls plays nice with each other. When I styled and pulled the curls apart the blend was great!

IMAG1805

Overall I was pleased with the experience. The jumbo rollers gave the same stretch as traditional curlformers. They also gave the same temporary results.

unnamed

My hair the next morning

After 12 innings of baseball, some much need rest my hair looked like it wasn’t styled. I plan to wear a bun followed by a braid out later in the week, so overall I am happy. The White Sox won and my hair is stretched !

4 comments on “Jumbo Curlformers

Leave a Reply

