Image

Preserving the Curl: Making Natural Hair Rollersets last

I have been rolling away since I got my hourglass rollers, but I have been looking for a way to get my curls to last throughout the week.

I can’t pin curl. I can’t pineapple. I can’t be bothered.

So I thought maybe I would try putting my hair in two pig tails and pinning the tails up while I slept. In an effort to measure effectiveness I rolled and smoothed the left side of my hair and left the right side in roller set barrel curls. I ponytailed and pinned and took pictures daily.

So follow me along the experiment and decide if the ponytails worked.

Step One: Roll

I used my hourglass rollers to rollerset my hair. And yes I see that big piece I missed–and no I don’t want to talk about it.

 IMAG1565 IMAG1567

Rolling went well. I used homemade flax seed gel mixed with aloe vera gel for hold after a yogurt and honey deep condition. My hair took an hour and fifteen minutes to dry. The pictures so my hair after drying.

Step Two: Unroll

IMAG1570

The next step was to remove the rollers. I let my hair cool for 20 minutes and then removed the duck clips and unraveled each roller.

Step Three: Smooth/ Not Smooth

IMAG1580

For step three I smoothed the left side of my hair. I did not smooth the right side. The idea here was to see if the curls longevity was influenced by smoothing.

I used my fingers to lightly comb through my hair and smooth the curls. I placed the smooth curls in a banana clip and pinned the loosed ends on top of my head.

On the opposite side I did not finger comb the curls but placed them in a banana clip pig tail  directly after removing the rollers. IMAG1582

I followed the same process for the next three nights and below are those results.

Day 1:

IMAG1586 smoothed side

IMAG1590unsmoothed side

Day 2:

IMAG1598Unsmoothed side

IMAG1594smoothed side

Day 3:

IMAG1604A picture of my very uneven part and ponytails

IMAG1601close up of the smoothed side in ponytail

IMAG1606smoothed side

IMAG1610unsmoothed side

After day three I wanted to switch my style, but it think pig tails helped the curls hold up well enough. Keep in mind I applied no products, used no combs, and no additional heat over these days. I think I like the smoothed side better!

So, are pig tails worth a try in your regime?

6 comments on “Preserving the Curl: Making Natural Hair Rollersets last

  1. I read once someone just used bigger rollers and pulled them in a mohawk for the overnight. Otherwise, I would pineapple and use a net. I normally just bun though because I comb my curls out.

    • My curlformers sets also last one day. I have read slot of naturals complain about it. I don’t think those things ever really “set” because they rarely hold and at best Gove two day hair. Whereas a Rollerset will last a week with upkeep

  2. Pingback: The Lazy Girl Flat Iron: Low heat natural hair Flat iron | herampersandhim

Leave a Reply

