Image

I Have A Stream – February: Warming Up Your Heart

My February post is coming very late. I’m not sure if it’s the cold weather outside or my warm bed inside that has delayed my posting. I’m guessing both reasons are to blame. Because the end of the month is rapidly approaching I decided to suggest one documentary to watch this weekend. The documentary is called Waste Land and it depicts the lives of Brazilian garbage pickers working in the world’s largest landfill. Brazilian visual artist Vik Muniz travels to his home country with the purpose of helping the less fortunate employees of the Jardim Gramacho landfill. He wants to accomplish this by collaborating with them to create beautiful works of art. Also, if Muniz is able to sell the work he would donate all earnings to the workers. I love this documentary and highly recommending people watch it. You don’t have to be into art or politics to take away a lot from this film. I first saw it a few years ago and it has recently popped up on Netflix. As soon as I saw it on Netflix I knew I had to share it with others. So please check out Waste Land and have your heart warmed this February by this endearing documentary.

One comment on “I Have A Stream – February: Warming Up Your Heart

  1. Love this documentary had to watch in for an art class and again for a global affairs course. The process of his art is just as amazing as the end result and loved that he gave back to the workers.

Leave a Reply

