Image

Hello Hair: Relaxed to Natural Journey

I never intended on starting a hair journey.

I never intended on becoming a DIY girl.

I didn’t hate my relaxed hair.

Yes I had relaxer burns, spent the entire day in the salon, paid friends to relax my hair and the like. I just considered it all apart of the process.

I always kept my hair in a collar bone length bob. I never wanted long hair. I never wanted curly hair. I just wanted straight, black hair. I had my beloved straight, black hair for 10+ years.

But when my sister called me and told me her dermatologist said  her scalp was inflamed and she nearly had alopecia as a result of relaxers I decided to take a break from relaxers. That was in [July 2010].

Initially my plan was to stretch my relaxers.

After about 4 months  I thought to myself “ What is the point? Either I am going to have deal with two textures all the time or I’m going to just grow it out.”

Grow it out is what I did.

I [transitioned for about two years], but I don’t consider myself a long term transitioner. I hid my hair everyday.

My curls started small and shrunken

IMAG0073IMAG0420IMAG0077

I waited for my curls to grow heavy and fall

IMAG0467IMAG0076

I gave up waiting and  started having fun with my hair and my hair grew and retained length. IMAG0774

It also grew bigger and fuller

 IMAG0877  IMAG0076

I started with no knowledge and gradually through online searches, books, and other bloggers have come to both learn and skillfully manage my hair. This section is my effort to give back to the community that gave me the knowledge to DIY. I’m a 4a/b, lo po, natural girl who mixes products, deep conditions, cuts, rollersets, styles from the discomfort of my bathroom

.IMAG0901

2 comments on “Hello Hair: Relaxed to Natural Journey

  1. Pingback: Blog Post Review – Jan 19th-25th | Natural Hair Blog Directory

Leave a Reply

