Image

UnBoxing the London Collection: Square Hue 1.13

I must say, Square Hue was lightening fast with this month’s shipment. Despite postal closures for Christmas and  New Year’s Day my box arrived on New Year’s Eve and the colors really took me by surprise. I expected deep colors for the season, but the box seems like a winter version of the fourth of July: deep blue, deep red, and a snow white.

As always the colors gave me something new to think about and obese over.

Lets start with my favorite: West End

This blue is the midnight-esque color people dream about. What some may call blue-black, this polish has so much dimension it defies typical boring dark colors.

IMAG1121

This blue is like ink. Though it goes on a bit translucent by the second coat this shimmer, as Square Hue calls it, gave full and ample coverage. I really like the reflective nature of this color. The paired with the deep saturation of the blue gives a little something special when considering all the flat, dark colors out there this winter.

IMAG1124

A red that also in keeps with deep theme in a different way is Buckingham, a high gloss creme.

IMAG1130
I tried out this red on my thumb nail and much like the blue it required two coats. Unlike the other high gloss creme red from last month New York collection, this red isn’t trying to bright.

IMAG1129This red is more mute, but bold enough because it is so rich to stand alone in a plain manicure or be a good base for some nail art.

IMAG1133

And finally the shocker of the box: the white Westminster. I don’t know why, but I didn’t anticipate a white, though it is the perfect representation of snow.  I will add this pearl white creme to my collection of white, but because of my sloppy polishing and my skin tone, I doubt I will rock an all white manicure.

Next month is my anniversary  as a Square Hue subscriber and in honor of such a colorful anniversary I will have a treat for you. STAY TUNED!

Leave a Reply

