Image

Who’s Next? – Part 2

At this point if you’re a Doctor Who fan you already know that the new Doctor is Peter Capaldi. Love him or hate him, the new series will be headed in a new direction. Here are five things I would like to see in next year in the 8th series.

 

  1. Captain Jack/Torchwood – It’s been far too long since we’ve seen everybody’s favorite omnisexual, time traveling immortal was on an adventure with the Doctor. Jack has always had great chemistry with the 9th and 10th Doctors. He’s brought a mix of humor and tragedy to the show in the past that has made him an unforgettable character. Torchwood: Miracle Day didn’t quite hit the mark for me and I would love to see the group come back in a Doctor Who story.

  2. Timelords – Though the Timelords are supposed to be whipped out, I would like to see some return. This includes The Master, The Rani, and even the Doctor’s daughter. Hell bring back all of Gallifrey. I think it would be interesting to have the Doctor interact with characters that are considered his equals and elders. Also, an older Doctor would be more of a father figure to his daughter. That’s if they ever cross paths.

  3. Direct continuation of old episodes – I think it would be compelling if the Doctor landed seconds or minutes right after his past self departed. Maybe even several years later and the audience can see the effects of the Doctor’s past involvements on distant worlds. Would the Doctor saving the day cause positive or negative effects on that particular society. I want to see the Doctor come across the Kinda and the Androids of Tara.’

  4. More TARDIS exploration – I really loved the episodes “The Doctor’s Wife” and “Journey to the Center of the TARDIS” mostly because it gave the viewer a deeper look into the corridors of the TARDIS. I would like to see more secret rooms, ancient libraries, and past console rooms. I would be fun to see the new Doctor interact with a console from 3rd or 7th Doctor eras. Hilarity would ensue.

  5. The Eighth Doctor – I like Paul McGann as the Doctor and even more as an actor. Sure the Doctor Who movie stunk to high heaven wasn’t that good, but I thought McGann was a good Doctor. He’s very underappreciated much like George Lazenby. The 8th Doctor is long overdue for his moment in the sun. I’m sure I’m not the only one who wonders what the hell ever happened to the 8th Doctor. Maybe we’ll find out during the 50th anniversary special.

 

I have high hopes for the next season and the two upcoming specials. Let me think about my list. What would you guys like to see in the upcoming season with the new Doctor?

 
Related articles

 

Leave a Reply

