Image

Who’s Next?

The New Doctor

After much speculation about the new Doctor it was finally announced this afternoon (if you’re in America) on a half hour special. As soon as I calculated the time difference I quickly turned to BBC America and anxiously awaited the new Doctor. The special consisted of several clips of the show and many interviews of past Doctors and companions. I expected a little more from the special, but I still liked it. It will be hard seeing Matt Smith go because he has always been “my Doctor.” I started watching the show because of the announcement that he was selected as the Doctor. It may be sad to see him go, but I will be great seeing him in the 50th anniversary special. That’s enough about Smith.

Anywho, the new Doctor is actor Peter Capaldi. I don’t know much about him outside of his roles in “The Fires of Pompeii” (which also starred Karen Gillan) and Torchwood. I’ve also seen this great montage of him cursing up a storm in The Thick of It. I’m excited about seeing him as the Doctor. I like how the producers chose to go with an older actor. It will be interesting to see how that will play into the show. Maybe the show will take a darker and serious tone. Since I’m a fan of the older series, it will be a good to see the character take a more authoritative role in the show. I can’t wait to see what the new season will bring. I also can’t wait to see how younger audiences will react to Capaldi. Will young female Whovians debate if he’s hotter than Matt Smith or David Tennant? Will young boys have 55-year-old man on their t-shirts and lunch boxes? Only time will tell. I just hope at some point they bring back the 8th Doctor because Paul McGann is needs more time in the TARDIS.

 

Leave a Reply

